Beating Hypothyroidism

Hello!

Being my first post on this blog I thought I should clarify a couple of things.  If you’re looking for expert advice on hypothyroidism, you won’t find it here.  If you’re looking for expert advice on how to lose weight with hypothyroidism, you won’t find that here either.

What you will find is how one woman-me-is dealing with a life-changing diagnosis.

Late last April I started treatment for hypothyroidism.  I couldn’t have been more excited if someone had handed me a winning lottery ticket…  Well, okay, that probably would have excited me more, but I was really happy because I thought I could finally leave the debilitating fatigue behind-and maybe start dropping a few of the extra pounds that seem to be stuck to me like glue.

However, I quickly discovered that this wasn’t to be the case.

Nope, my TSH levels, the medical field’s gold standard for determining treatment, fluctuates like mad.  The numbers will go down, and then shoot up.  And no matter where they’re at, I never feel a whole lot better than I have for the past I don’t know how many years.

And losing even ten pounds?  Not to be.  Working out in a pool six days a week for months on end?  I toned up a little, but no weight came off.  Gluten-free for three months?  Except for an initial, brief spike in my energy levels, nothing changed.  And the weight didn’t come off.

Fast forward to the end of December.  My TSH levels were right around three and my doctor said she thought I also had metabolic syndrome.  That I would probably never lose any weight, and if I did, it would be a battle, so I should just get used to life as it was at that moment.

Fast forward another couple of months….

I flatly refuse to accept that diagnosis.  I will feel better and I will drop a few pounds.  And that’s all there is to that.  There’s nothing I enjoy more than proving people wrong sometimes…and this is one of those times.

Some supplements seem to help.  Vitamin C, sublingual B-12…and B-complex.  Ireally wish I could take three or four B-complexes every single day.  Add to that an herbal tea and tablets (for natural energy that doesn’t give you the shakes), and a 3 mg melatonin with B6 two hours before bedtime and I am functioning better.   Not great, but better.

Except I’m aiming for great.  And that’s what this blog is all about…my journey back to feeling like a normal, energetic human being.

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Hello!

  1. I can’t wait to learn more since I wouldn’t be surprised I have the same thing – although I’ve never been tested. I won’t promise to comment every time, but i’m going to keep up, one way or another.

    • Don’t worry about commenting. Mostly I wanted to do this to motivate myself to keep trying. ROW80 worked really well for finishing the MS for Enza, and I think it was because I made a public commitment. So on days when I just want to crawl back in bed for a nap, I’m hoping that this will help me drag myself out of my chair, and out to the kitchen to make another smoothie. (sure wish there were disposable blenders, lol)

      If you’re suspecting you have hypothyroidism, keep a thermometer beside your bed and take your temperature under your arm before you get out of bed every morning. I don’t know why you’re supposed to take it under your arm, but that’s the recommendation. Mine is usually about 96.5.

      Also, if you’re struggling with energy, I find four things help me the most. People are different, and what works for me might not work for you, but I take a B-Complex around supper time, 1000 mcg B12 about 3 hours later, and over the course of the day 1 gram of vitamin C and 1-2 tablespoons of expeller pressed organic coconut oil (not at the same time). Those are the only things that help me stay awake and focused.

      I would say that getting a diagnosis is very important, except then your struggles really begin. My TSH have been up and down like a roller coaster for the past year. 😦

      • You are a walking encyclopedia of knowledge, Kristy. I’m going to read this tonight at home, when I have aminute to digest it. I do take supplements but mostly in the am and before bed. and in truth neither has been happening lately.

      • I wasn’t really clear on some of that (hadn’t been up long because my schedule is kind of like if I were working the midnight shift). If you try any of this, you’d want to move everything back to start around lunch time.

        Also, my total for vitamin C is 2-3 grams a day, and I don’t take the coconut oil at the same time, 1 tablespoon twice a day.

        I try to spread everything out so that I have something that helps in my system all day long. Except the four hours after I take the Synthroid, and then you can only take the C. And I forgot to mention that I take a 1400 mg fish oil/Omega-3 softgel and a woman’s multi every day, too.

        It helps me to keep everything on my desk. If I don’t, I forget.

        And I’m no expert. I’ve just had almost a year to experiment and figure out what helps keep me alert. This fatigue is overwhelming. And the whole ‘diet for 5 months,’ without cheating even once and not losing anything really sucks. So I’m hoping this new plan will kill two birds with one stone…wake me up even more, and get some pounds off. 🙂

  2. I, too, have hypothyroidism. My numbers really went wacky after the birth of my third child. My mom had hypo as well, but she now has Hashimoto’s disease (no thyroid function). All I can say is it is a roller coaster. I will feel better for awhile and then “crash”. When I recently described this to a new endocrinologist she looked at me like I was making it up. One doctor will say “numb hands” caused by your hypothyroid- another will say they’ve NEVER heard of that before. It drives me nuts!! I’ll look forward to following along with you. I like the B-12 myself and exercise. Many days I force the exercise because all I want is a nap! Hang in there:)

  3. Hi, Kara, it’s nice to meet you! My mom is hypo, too, and I’m sure when my sister finally gets tired of my nagging…and actually gets tested, she will find that she also has it.

    Do you ever wonder why things are so hard with this? Why doctors, who know very well the problems it causes, are so bad at actually treating it? Why the ignore the continuing symptoms of fatigue, pain, no weight loss, etc…? And why, when research shows that TSH levels are the WORST way to judge our progress, they cling to it like a life preserver?

    I’m with you on it all driving me nuts. I’m also going to be with you on getting back with the exercise. I think going to the pool six days a week for so long burned me out, so starting next week, it’s just going to be M/W/F’s for awhile. And then there’s the treadmill collecting dust in the dining room. Time to put it back into use.

    I’ll look forward to getting to know you. Maybe with enough of us chiming in on what helps, we can all feel better and lead more productive lives again. 🙂

  4. Shelly Immel on said:

    Kristy, you KNOW I know where you’re coming from on your “journey back to feeling like a normal, energetic human being.” Rebuilding my health, my strength, my joy drives my Big Life Project blog. And it’s all SO much easier when you can make gains with thyroid balance.

    Find a doctor who knows that the heck they’re doing, whose advice doesn’t contradict your own experience, and leave the rest behind.

    Very excited for you as you focus on rebuilding your best health!!

    • I do know that, Shelly. In fact, I know that the things I’ve been learning from the Big Life Project have helped me get to this point. I want to take control and make positive steps on getting my life back. This is one of those steps.

      My doctor is actually pretty good. She actually wrote a prescription for Armor last year, but then scared me out of taking it. When I see her in a couple of weeks, I’m going to tell her that Synthroid hasn’t helped me at all and now I want the Armor, no matter what she says to try and talk me out of it.

      And thanks! It’s nice to have you, and everyone else in my corner. 🙂

      • Shelly Immel on said:

        It’s my deep desire for the Big Life Project to be part of people’s growth. So glad you have found it useful! I always look forward to your comments there, and to hearing what’s going on with you, on your blogs and on mine, and now on FB. 🙂

        I’m very glad to hear your doc will work with you. (I hate having to find a new doc, but I’ve been through several care providers over the years.) Good luck w/ Armour and all the other changes you have in the works!

        It is always important to remember and know deep down that we are not alone. Big cyber hugs to you. -Shelly

  5. Well you’re succeeding in your desire. I find the Big Life Project to be very motivating, uplifting and inspiring. Unless you’re asking the hard questions and then it’s like split pea soup. 🙂

    I look forward to your comments, too…and learning more about you. You also make me jealous that you’re so artistically inclined (your little garden where the tree used to be…and that gorgeous bridge!).

    Hopefully I won’t have to change doctors for awhile. I don’t even like going to them, so breaking in new ones is annoying. I’m sorry you’ve had to do that…and anyone else who has run into brick walls with their treatment plans.

    And it is goo to know we’re not alone. Except when it comes to spring cleaning and then we’re ALWAYS alone. Hugs back. 🙂

Leave a Reply

