Beating Hypothyroidism

Fleshing Out My Plan

Back in December my doctor told me I should just accept that my life was what it was…and I should just get used to it.  At first I was ticked off and determined to prove her wrong.  That lasted for about a month, until a schedule change seriously impacted my already sleep-deprived life.  Being even more exhausted than I usually am, I started feeling more than a little depressed and hopeless, wondering if the doctor might be right.

I’m not sure what happened a few days ago but the rebellious part of me kicked up a heck of a fuss and I decided I was not going to accept that diagnosis.

Yes, it’s sounding like I have some sort of disease.  I don’t even know what hypothyroidism is classified as, nor do I care.  I just know it impacts my life in almost every area because of the relentless fatigue.  The Synthroid prescription that’s supposed to make everything better isn’t cutting it.

And so I’m finally ready to take the doctor’s advice and increase the nutritional density of my diet, though she suggested it for another reason.  Obviously (to me) the best way to do that is by increasing my fruit and veggie intake.  The only problem is, I’m too tired to invest any time in healthy cooking and food preparation, so I had to come up with another plan.

What is that plan?

Two fresh fruit smoothies, an apple with 2 tablespoons of peanut butter, 2 cartons of yogurt, 2 tablespoons of organic coconut oil, and at least 1 serving of powdered green superfood every day.  In addition to that I will continue taking at least 2 grams of vitamin C, a B-complex, B-12, melatonin, and a few other supplements.  I also want to increase my water intake to help flush toxins out of my body.

I would not add a sweetener to this, but other than that, it looks really good!

No, I’m not going to stop eating real food.  I expect to have anything I want for supper.  This will ensure that I get in the six meals and snacks every day needed to get-and keep-my energy levels up.  At least I hope things will work out that way.

I experimented Wednesday night with a smoothie-and learned what I’m not going to do again.  If I’m going to add a heaping tablespoon of psyllium husk to the shake, I won’t be using a whole banana.  The texture leaves a bit to be desired.  But I think that including fiber is important.  First it will help keep me full longer.  It will also increase my fiber intake-which has been seriously lacking with the quick and simple meals I’ve been preparing for too long now.

It’s hard to keep from getting excited about all of this, even though I’ve barely begun.  When you feel as bad as I have for as long as I have, this seems like it could be the light at the end of a seemingly endless tunnel.

When the energy starts picking up (soon, please!), I intend to start working out in the pool a few days a week and putting some miles on my treadmill again.  Maybe I’ll even start back with Pilates, though I have  a love/hate relationship with that program.

Anyway, at this point I plan on posting on Tuesdays and Saturdays.  Not sure if anyone else but me will be interested in my progress, but maybe some readers will chime in about what works for them.  Until next time, when I hope to have some real news to report, take care and feel better.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Fleshing Out My Plan

  1. would you mind sharing when you’re eating what? smoothie looks interesting – i’ve never seen them without yogurt. skim milk or almond milk would be a good addition.

    It looks interesting as a plan. my big downfall is diet coke. I either have none or i live on it. darn and double darn.

    time for abstaining again. darn.

    • I haven’t actually started it yet, Louise. Too much in the way of family stuff going on through Sunday. But I’ll be picking up a wind up alarm clock this weekend so I can start taking my Synthroid three hours after I fall asleep (it really screws up the vitamin schedule and that will solve that problem).

      My plan for first thing Monday morning is to start eating within the first hour after waking up. Likely a poached egg, slice of whole grain toast and a yogurt. And then something every three hours after that.

      That will be my biggest problem because I have no problem waiting six or eight hours to eat something after I wake up. And it’s not uncommon for me to go ten or twelve hours either. But waiting the full hour after my Synthroid makes forgetting to eat pretty easy. I might crawl out of bed starving but, within about thirty minutes, I’m not hungry anymore.

      Hmm on the smoothie. I’ve never had one with yogurt. Mine are almost always orange juice, banana and strawberries. 🙂

      My weakness for soda is Vernor’s ginger ale, but I haven’t had any soda in probably two months now. One of the symptoms I experience is water retention/bloating, and soda just makes that worse. I bought a two liter bottle just before I stopped drinking it but haven’t even been tempted (so far).

  2. Shelly Immel on said:

    Kristy, I don’t know if it will work for you, but here are some gluten-free snacks I’ve found to help fill out that 6/day target:

    + Apple sauce, or apple/berry sauce which has a better nutrition profile
    +Nuts – very portable. I like walnuts, pecans, and occasionally pistachios.
    +Kind-brand bars – basically nuts held together w/ natural sweeteners and dried fruit. I like coconut / almond or the one w/ dried apricots.
    + LARA bars are good too, but heavy on dates.
    +Banana sprinkled w/ cinnamon, pecans or walnuts optional
    +Mary’s Gone Crackers crackers w/ humus or peanut butter
    + Granny Smith (or any kind of) apples w/ peanut butter, cashew butter, almond butter…
    +Whole Foods Prairie Bread toast w/ coconut oil melted into it and jam
    + Small baked sweet potato w/ coconut oil, cinnamon, and nuts
    + gluten-free hot cereal w/ maple syrup, shredded coconut, and nuts
    + Flackers – flax-seeds and vegetable protein toasted into a high-fiber, high-Omega 3 fatty acid snack. They stick to the teeth a bit, but I like the dill flavor (can’t taste the dill) a lot.
    + Butternut squash, sliced thin. Eat it raw or cook it.
    + Any fruit.

    For meals:
    + Split pea soup
    + Chili
    + Chick pea salad w/ sliced apples, lemon juice, hearts of palm or artichoke hearts
    + Italian sausage w/ Great Northern Beans
    + Ground lamb and lentils
    + Corn pasta w/ shrimp and artichoke hearts (and feta cheese, if you eat dairy)
    + Stir-fried veggies w/ meat of your choice (no soy sauce)
    + Braised veggies w/ chicken (onions, celery, zucchini, tomatoes,…)
    + Fajitas (strip steak marinated and grilled w/ onions, served w/ salsa, beans, guacamole, and chips)
    + Most Indian dishes
    + Most Asian dishes made w/o soy sauce

    Lots of those dishes are easy to make in a big, one-pot batch. I like cooking once and having leftovers in the fridge and freezer.

    Anyway, I hope this helps. I am excited for you and the potential to feel SO much better when you get this figured out!

  3. Thanks so much for the suggestions, Shelly! I’ll be putting a lot of them to good use. Not the pea soup, lol. My sibs and I used to cry when our mom would make that…and I might still cry if I had to eat it (though I like peas in soups and stews, and fresh or thawed frozen peas in a seven layer salad…yes, I’m weird).

    I’m with you…leftovers rock! Of course when I get some energy back, I also love to cook and bake, so they won’t be quite so important.

    I’m excited, too. I’ve got a plan in place now…get my doctor to prescribe Synthroid, better supplementation, remove gluten from my diet, and start back at the pool this week. I expect to feel quite a bit better by the end of this month…and continue feeling better over the course of the summer. Yay! 🙂

    • Shelly Immel on said:

      Go, Kristy, go! (And if at first you don’t succeed, threaten yourself with slit pea soup… You might perk up RIGHT away.) 😀

      • LOL…sounds like a good threat. I do need to correct something though…I’m going to get my doctor to prescribe ARMOR…not Synthroid. Synthroid doesn’t work that well for me so I don’t want it again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

