Beating Hypothyroidism

Feeling Improvements Already?

So I’ve kept a sort of record of how I’ve been feeling this week.  Being the sort of person who expects immediate, unrealistic results, I was pleasantly surprised to discover that I wasn’t completely disappointed.  Tuesday night I realized that I wasn’t ready to crawl onto the top of my desk and take a nap after supper.  In fact, I felt more alert than I had in a long time….well into the middle of the night.

***

Wednesday I expected to feel a lot worse because my daughter was away for two nights.  No, I didn’t have trouble sleeping because I missed her, though I did miss her.  No, I had trouble sleeping because one of her cats missed her.  Jasper, our weird little black cat…with a tail and legs that are really short, and ears that look too large for his head…decided he was lonely.  And let me know it.  Frequently.  The entire time I laid in bed trying to lose myself in dreamland. From kneading my back, to climbing up on my shoulder when I was laying on my side, to walking on me…my sleep was disturbed so often I lost count of the times he woke me up.

This is a picture of the little stinker, after he climbed into the dryer when my daughter’s back was turned.  If you click on the picture you can see him staring at her.  He has gorgeous eyes.  Looks pretty comfy there on the warm, formerly clean bedding, doesn’t he?

I was really dragging when I finally crawled out of bed, couldn’t even focus my eyes for the longest time.  But then, after my yogurt and banana (and enzymes), I felt better.  And I felt fine all evening.  Not bouncing-off-the-walls-good, not by a long shot, but definitely better.

I should have been sporting a waffle face from falling asleep on my keyboard, but I was even awake and alert enough to help a friend, via telephone, set up some online accounts.  It was amazing!

Things kind of went downhill on Thursday, and are pretty much the same today, but that’s because of three nights in a row with too little sleep.  But technically I should be feeling worse than I do, because that’s just the way things have gone for a few years now.

I want to say that how I felt earlier in the week was because of the supplements I’ve been taking, and I think that’s part of it.  But I really think the enzymes are helping me to actually absorb them now.  I also suspect that the reason I feel so lousy today is because of the enzymes, too.  First I said it might be because of too little sleep.  Then I realized that, except for the night Jasper was bugging me, I haven’t gotten any less than I usually do.  At that point I remembered reading something mentioning that, as your body becomes able to rid itself of toxins (finally, and thanks to the enzymes), you can feel a little worse for awhile.

One of the things I’m most impressed with is how I’ve felt after eating.  I haven’t been uncomfortable even once.  And I purposely overate at supper on Wednesday.  My own little science experiment.  Just normal meals had been leaving me feel full and bloated for hours, for as long as I can remember.  But I took the enzymes and was perfectly fine.  I didn’t need a nap, or feel the slightest bit of discomfort.

So far I’m very impressed with digestive enzymes.  As a side note, no problems whatsoever sticking to my gluten-free diet five days in.

***Well I just found out something on the Mercola website that may have contributed greatly to my fatigue.  Apparently gum chewing causes your brain to signal your pancreas, stomach, and other digestive organs to start producing enzymes…because it thinks you’re getting ready to eat.  Do this enough, for too long, and the pancreas gets exhausted…and is unable to produce enzymes when you actually need them.
When I stopped smoking six or seven years ago, I started chewing gum.  Even though it was a habit I’d always hated, I wound up addicted to that…popping the first piece in my mouth shortly after getting out of bed every morning.  Not only that, but I’m chewing gum pretty much every waking minute.  That’s a long time for me to be fooling my body into thinking I’m going to feed it round the clock when all I do is chomp on sugar-free gum.
If my pancreas and other digestive organs have been producing minimal enzymes to help digest and absorb the nutrients from my food, it could account for my feeling better so quickly.  My body has likely been getting very little nutrition from my food and supplements for several years.  I’m also positive that’s why it felt like everything I ate just sat in my stomach for hours, too.  It was getting digested at a snail’s pace, and likely not as digested as it should have been anyway.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Feeling Improvements Already?

  1. sounds like you’ve hit on the beginnings of the solution.

    • I sure hope so, Louise. So far I’m still waiting on the improvements I felt Wednesday and Thursday to come back. LOL…in about 11 hours would be nice since I have a big dinner to make. 🙂

  2. Shelly Immel on said:

    Fantastic, Kristy! Not the part where you’re not feeling great again, but the info about chewing gum and enzymes. As Louise said, it sounds like you’re putting together some important pieces of the puzzle. Woot!

  3. I’m sure trying, Shelly. Wow, when I first set out to figure out what I could do, it seemed like an easy-to-put-together 500 piece puzzle. Now it’s looking more like a 10,000 piece, 3-dimensional puzzle. But the more I find out, the better I can decide how to combat the fatigue. 🙂

    When I wake up a little more again, I need to figure out which supplements can be safely taken together. I try to put 2 hours between most of them, but right now the island of bottles on my desk is growing larger all the time. I think days would have to be 50 hours long to do the every two hour thing.

    • Shelly Immel on said:

      Knowledge is power!

      I rebelled against the extreme regimentation of my supplement schedule at one point. Combining things that could be combined gave me some much needed breathing room. And some supplements actually work BETTER when you take them together. I hope you have lots of those and not so many that have to be separated!

      • I do double/triple up on some of them, but there are a few that are still stand alone until I do some research. But I can see why you rebelled. It’s a pain in the neck to figure it all out, lol. 🙂

Leave a Reply

