Beating Hypothyroidism

Scared Out of it Again

I’ll start off by saying that I really like my doctor.  But I finally realized that she’s very much pro-Synthroid.  She was perfectly willing to write me a prescription for Armour Thyroid yesterday, and I was relieved that I didn’t have to argue my case.  But then, after we’d discussed my anxiety attack in early March, she started telling me some things to watch for…including anxiety attacks.

She also scared the heck out of me when she said if my throat started feeling sore-at all-I needed to contact her immediately.  Why?  Because Armour Thyroid can cause something called Thyroiditis.

Long story short, I said forget it and she increased my Synthroid to 100 mcg.

After I got home, disgusted that I was still on a medication that hadn’t done a darned bit of good for a year, I realized that while she was very quick to rattle off a list of side effects for the Armour, not once had she mentioned even one for the Synthroid.  So I did a little Googling.

Know what I found out?

The side effects for Synthroid are half again as long as the list for Armour.  Most are exactly the same…and some are worse.

I don’t know why so many doctors are against Armour, but it seems to be a sort of epidemic.  I’m going to educate myself a little more before I see her again in six weeks, and actually take in a list comparing the two.    Unless I experience a major turn around between now and then, I’ll be trying the Armour…and I will NOT be talked out of it again.

To change the subject abruptly, I have definitely been feeling better since starting back on the coconut oil.  No, I don’t feel particularly energetic, but I haven’t been quite so tired the past few days.  I’ve only been doing a tablespoon twice a day, figuring I’ll work up to the four over a week or so.

Now for another question.  Has anyone ever had a doctor tell them that treating women for hypothyroidism after they turn forty is hard to do because of fluctuating hormone levels?   That this is why TSH levels can bounce all over the chart?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Scared Out of it Again

  1. I am learning so much from these posts, my friend. my doctor said that prescribing many meds can be difficult while in peri menopause because of the fluctuating hormone levels. it’s a challenge for some drugs.

  2. I’m glad you’re getting something out of them, Louise. Thanks for telling my about your doctor. Although my periods roll around ever 26 days like clockwork so I’m not sure how much hormone fluctuation is going on yet. I just know I’d like to get my TSH levels somewhere in the optimal range. So far, in a year of treatment, I haven’t hit those numbers even once. It’s frustrating.

    One of these days I’m going to do a post on how useless the TSH test is. I’ve read a great deal about it, but am still waiting until something clicks so I can explain it in terms that aren’t enough to make people go…huh???

    By the way… I know you read the post about my ‘professional photograph adventure’ this past week. I have a word of caution to pass along about that. Having your makeup done by a professional can have a nasty consequence (in addition to making you look like a corpse)…in the form of a stye. If anyone ever wants to apply a thin line of dark eye powder instead of actual eyeliner, tell them NO. 🙂

Leave a Reply

