Beating Hypothyroidism

An Interesting Couple of Weeks

Today marks two weeks since I eliminated gluten from my diet.  Am I feeling better?  Yes I am.  I’m not ready to enter a marathon, but I’m definitely a little more awake than I was.

Unfortunately I can’t give gluten-free all the credit.  During this two weeks I started taking the digestive enzymes…and using coconut oil again.  I’ve also been continuing with the supplements, mostly B12 (up to about 2000 mcg daily), B-complex, vitamin C, A, D and a calcium/magnesium/zinc combination.  It’s kind of hit and miss with the fish oil and a few other things.  And I added the herbal tea back into the mix…in moderation this time.

A decrease in the fatigue isn’t the only benefit I’ve noticed though.  I’m retaining less fluid and, wonder of wonders, I’ve dropped about six pounds….which is strange since I haven’t even been dieting.  No doubt some of it was water weight.  Who knows?  Maybe all of it was.  But it will be interesting to see what happens over the next six weeks with the higher dose of Synthroid.

If the weight loss continues, with no other changes, I think it will prove something I’ve said for a long, long time.  I consistently eat far fewer calories than it takes to maintain my weight.  And I certainly don’t eat enough to gain weight.  Something is (or was?!) seriously not right about the way my metabolism works.  Or doesn’t work…

I’m going to credit most of the positive changes to the digestive enzymes (followed closely by the coconut oil).  If my body wasn’t absorbing most of the nutrition from my food, my brain likely thought it was starving and holding onto every calorie I took in.  I also wouldn’t have been getting any benefit in the energy area either.  I can’t even pretend to understand everything I’ve read about that, but it kind of makes sense.

Either way, I’m only two weeks into this so I’ll have to see what happens.  Will I continue to feel better?  Will I continue to get rid of those pounds I’ve been fighting against for several years?

No one knows the answer to those questions…especially not me.  But for now, I seem to be on the right track.  I know that sounds a little negative but I’ve tried so many things in the past couple of years to try and feel better.  Some things worked temporarily.  Others not at all.  So it’s hard to get my hopes up too high…just in case it’s another fluke.

Next on the list of changes is to make some changes in my schedule so I can hopefully get a little more sleep.  I was doing good, for awhile, about laying down for an hour every afternoon…and it helped.  But me being me, naps are just not something I can give into easily, and it wasn’t long before I started finding excuses to avoid them. But the fact is, five or six hours of sleep every night just isn’t enough for me right now.  So I’ve got to change something.

One thing I’ve changed is to have several fruit smoothies every week.  I keep trying to build up to daily, and preferably twice a day, but my creativity in the smoothie area is a little lacking.

So I’m asking for some ideas.  Recipes, please.  I love the ones I do with orange juice, a banana and four strawberries, but strawberries fall into the goitrogen category and I don’t want to go overboard with them.  Mangoes look like a pain in the neck to peel, although I really like them in the McDonald’s mango-pineapple smoothie.  But I want to get away from those because I suspect they’re loaded with high fructose corn syrup.  So a recipe to make them-or something that tastes sort of like them-from nothing but fruit would be very much appreciated.

Are there any fruits or veggies that would go well with apples?  I know some people like to mix spinach leaves with them, but again we’re talking goitrogens.  I’d just like a bit of variety, only I’m not sure how to go about it.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “An Interesting Couple of Weeks

  1. love how you’re treating htis as research. I’m going to have to get busy. but it’s crazy right now.

  2. I do look on this as a kind of research. And a public record of what I’m doing, trying and experiencing. It really helped get me back on track with the gluten after finding those three blogs from last year so I expect that having a blog about nothing but this will be good for the times when I get discouraged.

    For example, today has NOT been a good day. I have just been really tired…but with the blog tour coming up next week, a repair that had to be made on the car, filing the tax return…and my daughter’s urgent, desperate need to go clothes shopping (which wasn’t an entirely bad thing because I found some framed prints of outhouses that are really cute, lol), it’s just been a long week. And it’s only Tuesday… 🙂

    Fortunately I have decided that I don’t care what’s going on for the next couple of weeks….I’m going to start making a determined effort to get more sleep….NOW. It feels like my brain has been begging me to start trying to get to bed earlier. The way I feel tonight…it’s a perfect opportunity to do exactly that. Especially since I need to make a trip to a city about 45 minutes from here to get tags for the license plates tomorrow. Yay. 🙂

  3. Oops… This is what I get for being tired AND distracted. Louise, you don’t have to make huge changes all at once. Maybe you could just get some digestive enzymes and start taking them with all of your meals and snacks. I wish I could recommend one but so far, of the two I’ve tried, the store brand of a local grocers seems to work the best for ‘me.’ The other one helps, just not as much. So it would just be trial and error. But worth it.

  4. Shelly Immel on said:

    Kristy, I have a friend who’s enjoying juicing with her 10 year old twins. They like adding a little fresh ginger (doesn’t take much!). I think kiwi is also popular. They like cucumber, too, but not too sure about how that would work for blendering rather than juicing. You can buy frozen mango pieces – in my experience, they tend to be not quite as ripe as I prefer, but they are handy.

    Last week was a down week for me, too – fevers, fatigue, brain fog, etc. Got some test results back I didn’t care for, hinting at long-term viral issues. So yesterday I started micronutrient IVs, which send a LOT of nutrition directly into the bloodstream, which is good if you have absorption problems, which you and I both seem to. My body seems to like the IVs so far. They are prep for a hydrogen peroxide drip intended to kick viral butt. This approach is expensive, but short term. I am hopeful to get back on top of the world by this time next week. Will let you know how it goes.

    Good luck getting your sleep on track! That makes a big whopping difference for me. XO

  5. Oh I didn’t even think about using ginger…I LOVE that stuff. Cucumber might work…if I took the seedy part out.

    I’m sorry to hear about the long-term viral issues…but glad you’re on top of it. And also glad that I’m not the only one who turns to peroxide, although I’ve never gone the IV route. I usually put it in a cool mist vaporizor…or the direct inhalation method. It helps enough that my son actually nags me about it when he has a cold (you’d have to know him to know how out of the ordinary this is).

    I’m hoping with you that you’re back on top of the world within the week. Life is so much more fun from that vantage point, isn’t it? 🙂

    And yes, sleep makes a huge difference. In fact, I’d hoped to be spending some quality time with my pillow about twenty minutes ago but the kids are dragging their feet about getting the dogs out (so there are ZERO surprises in the morning). We are just about to have a little chat… 🙂

    • Shelly Immel on said:

      I’ve never heard of peroxide via inhalation. That’s fascinating. Will have to check that out. How much do you put in the water in the vaporizer?

      • This is the article that got me started with the inhalation therapy. Then I did a little more research. Of course there are people who think it’s nuts, but it’s helped my kids and I when we’re sick. http://www.earthclinic.com/Remedies/hydrogen_peroxide_inhalation.html

        As for the vaporizer, it has to be cool mist and the average measurement seems to be 2 cups of peroxide to 1 gallon of distilled water. I just usually use 1 cup though.

        One more note on the inhalation method…I just use the stuff you can get at a drug store. So does the guy who wrote the article in the link above. Most of the advocates of the practice recommend using food grade peroxide for inhaling (and ingesting…but we don’t do that), but that usually involves the 35% solution, which can cause burns if not handled correctly. I’ve also been afraid that I wouldn’t dilute it right so I just go with Mr. Monro’s method. 🙂

Leave a Reply

