Beating Hypothyroidism

Oops…Thought I Posted This Before I Went To Bed

It’s just been one of those weeks (and it’s only Tuesday…gulp!).

I’m thinking the timing for giving up the electronic cigarettes wasn’t good.  Not that I’m going to cave and start up again, but I was finally starting to feel a little better again.  Of course I would forget that one of the symptoms of quitting is fatigue (yay…just what I don’t need more of).  Add to that the stress of the blog tour and I’m kind of back to being a zombie again.  My son…my autistic son…told me this afternoon I looked like I’d just finished running a race.  He was referring to the very dark shadows under my eyes.

It doesn’t help that I can be an idiot sometimes.  As the fatigue got worse, I forgot to use the coconut oil again.  For about three days.  Not very smart.  I’m back on track with it again though.  It makes a huge difference in how I feel.

I made a discovery yesterday.  I wanted to try these detox wraps a cousin started selling, so I went made a trip to town to buy one, and then to the store to pick up a few things.  All the while my stomach just felt bad.  Too full.  I put it down to the hot dogs we had for supper.  I’m not a hot dog lover and I’ll blame them for anything from a stomach ache to the fact that the temperatures are going to drop into the thirties again tonight…and that Pennsylvania got snow and Michigan didn’t.

Oh…  I’m still gluten-free with no problem.  In fact, I’m going to be trying out a gluten-free carrot cake recipe on Friday.  If it turns out good (and it had better since it’s for a family get-together!), I’ll share the recipe.  I love carrot cake!

Okay…back on track here.  I finally realized I’d forgotten to take my digestive enzymes with supper.  I sure don’t want to make that mistake again!  I guess I didn’t realize exactly how much they help.

But even though I’m feeling more tired again, I can only assume that getting more nutrients from my food is making me feel better at some level.  I truly expected giving up the e-cigarettes to be just as hard as the regular ones…and it’s not.  Mostly.  I was ready to pack it in for a few hours on Sunday, but managed not to.  And it’s been better since then.  No, it’s not completely painless, but it’s not all that bad either.

Moving on…

I’m not sure if this improvement is from the digestive enzymes or not.  It does make sense, though, that poor nutrition would affect every aspect of your bodily functions.  All I know is that I just got over my second ‘almost normal’ period.  Instead of the nearly seven days I’ve had to live with the past few years, the last two have been closer to what they’ve been my whole life…four days.  And I’m loving it.

That’s about it though.  I’ve been on the higher dose of Synthroid for ten days and haven’t noticed anything drastic.  In fact, some of my worst days have been since I started the new prescription on the 14th.

So there you have the report on the past few days.  There have been ups and downs, but I’m still making progress in pursuit of better health…in spite of hypothyroidism.  I’ve been going to bed earlier, so maybe that will make a difference.  Regardless I’m determined to have better news on Saturday.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Oops…Thought I Posted This Before I Went To Bed

  1. Kristy, why do we forget to do the very things that help us get well? I am so with you on this one. do it way more often than makes sense

    • I wish I knew, Louise. But I do it more often than you’d believe possible. And I have NO excuse. All of my supplements…and the coconut oil are sitting on my desk…right in front of my nose almost. Maybe it has something to with crawling out of bed in the morning, feeling like you haven’t slept in days. Maybe that just does something to your mind…like all common sense stays under the covers when we get up.

      If I can remember to do it, I want to make a chart to hang on the top part of my desk…that will be right in front of my face. Just something in bright red to remind me to take all of these things. Hopefully that will help. But right now I have so many notes about the tour tacked up that it’s going to have to wait.

Leave a Reply

