Beating Hypothyroidism

Uh-oh! I Forgot Saturday…and a sort of recipe

Posting just completely slipped my mind.  There was so much going on that day, including baking my first gluten-free Betty Crocker yellow cake.  Well, technically it started out yellow, but after tweaking it just a bit, it came out as a carrot cake.  And it was delicious!  Everyone who tried it at the party really liked it.  Even one person who thought I put whole carrots in it (I’ll explain in a minute).

Just quickly, I discovered something entirely by accident on Sunday.  For a little over two weeks I’ve been taking a Synthroid, vitamin C and a bottle of water to put in the basket on my bedside table, along with a little battery operated alarm clock set to wake me up two or three hours after I fall asleep.

This was a change in schedule for me.  I’d been taking the Synthroid between eleven and one o’clock for nearly a year.  And it looks like my body was pretty used to it.  That or it really does have something to do with  your schedule.  Because I have to say that I felt marginally better today…because I forgot to set the alarm and took it at 11:00 a.m. again.

Now I’m not sure what to do.  I was doing better at eating within an hour of waking (because it makes your metabolism work better when you do).  So should I keep trying to get used to the 7:00 a.m. change in schedule…and hope I start adjusting to it, or go back to the original schedule and screw my metabolism up some more?  Quite a choice, hmm?

Another observation I’ve made is that digestive enzymes don’t work nearly as well when you screw up and cut back on your water consumption.  Smoothies don’t seem to count toward your daily liquid intake (since they’re nothing but pureed fruit I’m not sure why I thought they might).  So I’m trying to bump that back up as I don’t really drink anything but water.

And this, before I forget…Wednesday (I think) marks two full weeks off the electronic cigarettes.  I admit a few of the days have been rough, but it’s nowhere near as bad as I thought it might get.

And now the ‘sort of” recipe…

Gluten-Free Carrot Cake

1 box Betty Crocker gluten-free yellow cake mix

3 teaspoons cinnamon

1  BIG handful shredded carrots (I bought pre-shredded carrots)

Walnuts (I used lots…like an entire 12 ounce bag…and I didn’t chop them up…which is why someone thought I threw in a few whole carrots.   Whole walnut halves are a little tough to cut through with a plastic knife.)

Mix cake according to package directions.  I added the cinnamon the last 20 seconds of the 2 minutes beating time.  Stir in carrots and walnuts so it’s well blended.  Divide mixture between 2-8-inch round cake pans and spread evenly.

I baked them in a 350 degree oven for approximately 20 minutes…until a knife came out clean.

After it’s cooled, frost with a cream cheese icing.  I made mine something like this…

3/4 stick of softened butter

8 oz cream cheese

maybe 4 cups powdered sugar

enough milk to make it frosting consistency

That’s pretty much it.  Can’t wait to try the brownies when PMS rears its ugly head in a couple of weeks.  🙂

Okay, so that wasn’t entirely it…

Louise, I’ve discovered a couple of pretty good gluten-free foods in the past week.  Schar table crackers and Mrs. Leeper’s corn spaghetti noodles.

One thing I’ve absolutely despised about the gluten-free crackers I’ve tried so far is the fact that they ALL have a rice cake texture…which I don’t like.  But NOT these table crackers.  They’re kind of like a thicker, denser saltine…and the texture is such an improvement over the others!  So far I’ve used them with cheese, peanut butter…and I even like them with just a little real butter.

The pasta?  Couldn’t tell the difference with the spaghetti sauce tonight.  (yes, I finally figured out there were colors in WordPress…only took me 10 months to find them).  🙂

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Uh-oh! I Forgot Saturday…and a sort of recipe

  1. thanks Krisy. I’m going to check the stores and see if we have those products in Canada. I went to whole foods in chicago and nearly fainted. our ‘health food’ stores are about 1/5 of the size of that store in chicago. but i’ll check. thanks so much

    • Hey…I just wanted to add that I tried something else on Tuesday. I bought a bag of Bob’s Red Mill all purpose GF flour and wound up using some for fried chicken.

      Most of my adult life, I’ve just seasoned flour with salt, garlic powder, celery salt and cayenne pepper (not a lot, just enough for a little bite). I did the same for my chicken on Tuesday…and it tasted exactly like my fried chicken has always tasted. Yay! It was so good, in fact, I’m making it again tonight. 🙂

      • sounds awesome. I am having a terrible time with food right now. I don’t want to cook or eat. so i’m living on comfort foods (starchy comfort foods). not good for me in a hundred different ways.

      • Have you tried the coconut oil yet? If not, I encourage you to do a Google search for “coconut oil and energy.” I still feel very fatigued, but since I started using that again, it’s better.

        The jar I have says, “Chefs know. Athletes know. The beautiful people know. Natural, plant-based saturated fats can be a very good thing. Whether for tender, moist cake or extra energy before a race…”

        I think needing ‘comfort foods’ (when it’s not a cold winter day) has a lot to do with how we’re feeling. The worse I feel, the more I want mac and cheese, chicken stew and dumplings, pancakes or waffles, etc… Carbs are supposed to give us energy (http://sportsmedicine.about.com/od/sportsnutrition/a/Carbohydrates.htm).

        Unfortunately that works exactly opposite for me. When I eat carbs, more than 40 grams per meal anyway, I crash within an hour. I don’t know if it’s the hypothyroidism, or if it’s the gluten sensitivity (or a combination of those things), but I have to actively counteract that.

        The coconut oil, enzymes, vitamin C, B-complex and B12 help the most…with coconut oil topping the list.

        So I would urge you to either pick up some extra virgin or expeller pressed (I use Spectrum Naturals) and give it a shot. It’s about $6.00 in my area, but very well worth it. At least for me.

  2. Oops. I should have mentioned that I got these GF foods at a regular grocery store (and I live in a fairly small town). I had planned on buying the crackers on Amazon…to save money, but wanted to see if I could find them locally first…because I didn’t want to wind up with 3 packages if I didn’t like them. Amazingly enough, even NOT taking into account shipping charges, they’re less expensive at the grocery store.

    It’s funny to see people from so far away who have visited Chicago. I’m only about 3 1/2 hours away and have never been there. 🙂

  3. Shelly Immel on said:

    Hi, Kristy & Louise.
    That is a SERIOUS amount of carrot & walnut in a cake. I like bold textures in desserts, so it sounds pretty great to me. Glad you are finding good substitutes, Kristy!

    For crackers, try: Mary’s Gone Crackers. Very high texture content, so not at all like a saltine, but they hold up well with humus or peanut butter or cheese (if you’re eating dairy).

    For me, 1-pot dishes are great comfort food, especially things w/ beans or split peas. (I know – no split peas for you, Kristy! But not even the yellow ones?) The beans add a creamy, rich, thick quality to the dish, and cooking in one pot means it’s easier to clean up. Onions, garlic, browned meat, beans, and spices, and whatever veggies you have handy. It takes a while to cook, but it’s fairly easy, makes plenty for the freezer (so later you just have to thaw, not cook!), and scores high on my cozy meter.

    I hope you both feel very good very soon!

    • However you describe it, the cake was wonderful. I’m glad others thought so, too, because even though it’s technically a one-layer cake, I still don’t need the entire thing myself. 🙂

      Um…I like frozen or canned peas added to soups, stews and a 7-layer salad, but that’s about the only use I have for that veggie. But I agree, one-pot meals are fantastic, both for convenience and cleanup. The meal you describe sounds similar to something my mom used to make. She browned ground beef, onion and spices, then added cans of light red kidney beans and peas. Not a big favorite with anyone but her. I guess it was a ‘recipe’ passed down from my grandpa. Much as I love and miss my grandpa, I don’t see that ever making its way onto my table, lol. I expect made from scratch would have tasted better though.

Leave a Reply

