Beating Hypothyroidism

I’ve Narrowed Down What Helps The Most

And it certainly isn’t Synthroid.

At the very top of the list is….coconut oil.  Since starting this blog, I’ve used up a jar that was three-quarters of the way full…and I’m about a third of the way through a second.  I am just stunned at how much worse I feel on days when I forget to take it.

Second in line is B-complex.  I don’t know why that helps as much as it does, but I still wish I could take it two or three times a day.

Third…it’s kind of a toss up.  Fish oil, vitamin C, and my women’s multi all help to some degree, but not as much as the other things.  I won’t stop taking them, though, because I know they contribute to my functioning better.

How am I functioning?  Better.  I wish I could say good, but I can’t.  My sleep schedule is more fouled up than ever (BIG mistake to take coconut oil after ten at night!).  Most days I still so tired I wish I could have a nap.  Sometimes I even give in and take one.

The main reason for the insomnia is pain…a ‘side effect’ from the accident.  However, I’ve decided I can’t procrastinate anymore.  I know that going to the pool controls it and, no matter how tired I might be, I have to just force myself to go.  In a couple of weeks, I’ll be able to use my treadmill again, which also helps (and since I’ve given up the electronic cigarettes, I should be able to really start hoofing it).

So my updated plan is…

* Make sure I take coconut oil three times a day (no more screwing around with once or twice).

* Make sure I take my B-complex, fish oil, other supplements, one fruit smoothie, and one glass of swamp sludge (powdered green superfood for those who don’t know what I’m talking about…I do not wander down to the nearest swamp and drink out of it…honest) daily.

* Get to the pool at least three times a week.  I’m afraid going six days a week last year burned me out, but I’d still like to work up to that again.

* Make a better effort to increase my water intake.

* Start working on my sleep schedule as soon as the pain starts easing up.

* Show my doctor that the list of side effects for Armour are pretty much identical to the list for Synthroid…and switch to Armour.  Also, remember to take along the dosage information about how to switch from one to the other.

That’s about it for now.  This road is turning out to be much longer than I thought it would be.  But I’m still determined.  I intend to live a good, long, energetic and healthy life.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “I’ve Narrowed Down What Helps The Most

  1. sounds like you’re putting together a good plan of action to heal. well done

  2. Shelly Immel on said:

    It’s wonderful to get clarity on things that actually make a difference! People recommend what works for them, and that can be helpful to discover new possibilities. But what really matters is what works for YOU.

    Go, Kristy, go!

    • It does help to know what’s working, that’s for sure. Of course looking at the dates, I can see that maybe I’m using a bit too MUCH of the coconut oil. The bottle was 2/3 full three days ago. It’s less than half full now. Of course using it to counteract the lack of sleep isn’t helping either. Good thing I don’t eat a whole lot! Now that I think of it, I’ve been eating even less since I started using that again. Hmm…

Leave a comment