Beating Hypothyroidism

Feeling a little better

I’m starting this blog late Sunday night (technically it’s 2:02 Monday morning, but it will continue to be Sunday for me until I go to bed and sleep a few hours).

Okay, so I made it to the pool three times last week, dragging my heels all three times.  However, I noticed when I went grocery shopping today that I was walking quite a bit faster, with less pain and barely limping at all.  So I’m enthused about heading back tomorrow (Monday).  And I may be bumping the visits up to six days a week again…effective immediately.

About that radish recipe for my hypothyroidism…

I think I’ve already owned up to not being very fond of radishes, so I put it off and put it off, and didn’t even try it until around four o’clock this afternoon….too late to work in a second dose (in case it worked, I didn’t want to see the sun come up again).

First, it didn’t taste nearly as bad as I thought it would.  In fact, it’s a heck of an improvement over organic vinegar, and I use that very regularly.  I did the 4 radishes, juiced, then added about 3 ounces of low sodium V8, several drops of the Tapatio hot sauce (I have to pry the thing out of the top of the bottle because a drop at a time is a pain in the neck), and a couple of good shakes of cayenne pepper.  It did have a bite, but I used a straw and sucked it down quick.

Now, before I forget to mention this part, I did get seventeen hours sleep this weekend.  And eight hours of that was in a row, except for waking briefly to take my Synthroid (I set an alarm to take it at the same time every day).  The other nine were in three and five hour increments.  I just wanted to be clear on that.  I did catch up on some sleep.

That said, I have had no supplements, other than digestive enzymes with supper, and no coconut oil, but since drinking the radish mixture, I shopped at two stores for over an hour, got supper around, washed a mountain of fruits and veggies, washed dishes, and got some laundry and housework done.  This is a very productive day for me.  (I should also mention that I juiced some carrots and apples and had a glass of that, too)

I’ve had days where I’ve caught up on sleep before and I haven’t accomplished nearly as much…even with the supplements and coconut oil.  Now I’ll admit I’m starting to feel tired again, but I’m still more alert than I’ve felt in awhile.

The question is, how much of it is due to the radish mixture?  I don’t know.  But I’ll be doing it twice tomorrow, along with more juiced fruits and veggies…and my supplements and coconut oil.  Hopefully, by the time I post the blog in about twenty-four hours, I’ll have even better news to report.  🙂

****

So it’s 9:15 Monday night…

I do not have news as good as I’d hoped to have tonight, but that’s only because whatever sleep I caught up on over the weekend must have been just enough to feed the flames of the insomnia.  The sun was just coming up over the horizon when I finally fell asleep somewhere between 5:30 and 6:00 (I don’t know for sure because I refused to look at the clock or open my eyes again when I realized it was starting to get light out).  Then I woke up about forty-five minutes later to full daylight, fell back asleep somewhere between nine and ten…and then woke up for the day about 12:45.  I know that sounds scandalous, but I didn’t sleep a full five hours.

However…

I still made it to the pool for a good workout, went shopping again (one store this time), and don’t feel too bad right now.  I haven’t been nearly as productive today as I was yesterday but it could be worse (and has been!).  I’m also about to grab my daughter and head into town to get a Frosty.  I don’t know if it’s the extra nutrition, lack of sleep, or a combination of both, but I haven’t eaten much today…and I need some calories.  Might as well get it from ice cream.

Hopefully by Saturday I’ll have a better idea of how this juicing, especially the radishes, is working out for me.  I won’t expect miracles because it won’t even be a week until Sunday.  But who knows?

I’ve hit the two month anniversary of being gluten-free, Wednesday will be seven weeks since I gave up the electronic cigarettes, still doing the digestive enzymes and trying to tweak the supplements…and I’ve started my second week back at the pool and added juicing.  That’s not too bad considering I just started this blog two and a half months ago.  I’ve made some very positive changes

The improvements haven’t been very dramatic, or even very consistent, but I’m not giving up.  I am, however, going to have to reschedule my doctor’s appointment.  I forgot to get the blood test done again.  I really hate having a needle stuck in my arm.  🙂

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Feeling a little better

  1. good stuff Kristy.

    • debbie on said:

      Hi, I have been reasearching since I am Hypo and looking to feel better. Check out this link its about a lady who started using radishes as medicine. I thought of it as I read your post. Here’s the link http://randomlife.hubpages.com/hub/Hypothyroidism-Weight-Loss-and-Juicing

      • Thanks for the link, Debbie! And thanks for stopping by. It’s still too early for me to make a call about the radish juice, but I can tell you that coconut oil, fish oil (omega 3’s), B12, B-complex and vitamin C help me a whole lot. I imagine the multi vitamin and digestive enzymes are doing their part, too…but I actually feel the difference when I use the other stuff. NOT that I’m recommending you try these things. I’m not a doctor and I can’t advise you what to take. I’m sharing what helps me. 🙂

  2. Sounds like you have lots of things going on at once in your body, Kristy. It’s frustrating when things that work one day don’t have the same effect on another day, but it’s still great to have great days! They remind us what life is supposed to be like and fire my determination to reclaim a life full of great days.

    Blogging is a great way to maintain focus and both remember and honor your accomplishments. You’ve done a lot, and we know every step along the way takes extra effort when you feel crummy. Kudos to you, swim / radish / enzyme / gluten-free / coconut oil / blogging queen!

    • It is frustrating, but it’s those days that are good that motivate me to keep trying. Because, like you, I’m getting my life back…and it will include far more great days than not. And the blogging does help. LOL…I know it can get really boring, but this is my way of keeping me on track. And being able to look back and see what I did, when I did it…and track whether it’s helping or not. Although making so many changes in a couple of months was probably not the best way to figure it all out. However, I do know that I feel better for a while after I take B-complex, coconut oil, a few other things…and now the radish juice…so I try to spread them out over the day so I feel better over a longer period of time (sorry, I may wind up falling asleep by four for a change…I’m really tired tonight).

      By this time next month I intend to be bouncing off the walls because everything started working right. LOL…I have to have a goal. 🙂

      • It is amazing how things can click and you make a big leap forward. We live for those moments, don’t we? But the daily one-step-at-a-time method is what gets me to those big leap moments, and what makes me know I can handle it when the big leap doesn’t get me all the way to where I want to be. Step by step, leap, step by step, leap, step by step…that’s just the way it works. It’s important to know that you can and will take care of yourself and keep finding things to try, because you are dedicated and determined to regrowing your fullest life. That kind of self-knowledge, knowing you can trust yourself not to give up, will get you through a lot of crap.

        All that said, here’s to bouncing off the walls next month!!

Leave a Reply

