Beating Hypothyroidism

Been a Long Week

I’m still feeling better as far as the Synthroid schedule goes (forgot to do the blood test again though).  I’ve been doing horrible on getting to the pool (I have a list of excuses-legit and not so legit-as long as my arm). Still doing the coconut oil and some supplements (gotta do better!).

Two things, though, are giving me bigger problems than anything else.  First, I thought I’d be over the worst of the whole electronic cigarette thing by now.  It’s been nearly 2 1/2 months, and I’m STILL tempted to order more supplies sometimes.  Only the fact that I don’t get out of breath as easily is keeping me on task.  But I am going through a lot more nicotine gum.

Second on the list is the gluten-free lifestyle.  I’ve been totally resenting that for a few weeks now.  Yes, it was very nice that the Pamela’s bread dough worked out so nicely for pizza, but no matter how much I tried to convince myself that it was the same…it’s not.  It’s better than the other gluten-free options, but it’s NOT the same.  I’m still on that whole raspberry Bismark kick…I just want one SO bad…

And I finally said the heck with it.  I decided I was taking this weekend and having a gluten orgy.   I am going to eat several of the foods I’ve been missing like crazy…including real pizza, real biscuits, real french toast, and real whatever I want.

Hopefully it won’t backfire, but I figured a controlled cheat was probably my best bet.  I was afraid if I didn’t, I’d completely throw in the towel like I did about this same stage last year.  If it works, I’ll plan on this periodically until I get better, more permanent control of it.

If I give myself permission sometimes, I might not be as tempted (that’s what I’m telling myself anyway).

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Been a Long Week

  1. Kristy how did you make out with your controlled cheat? how are you feeling? I have those cravings but I know how crappy I feel so I live with them. hoping you made out better than i usually do.

  2. I decided, since I wasn’t feeling too bad, to just let it go for a week. I realized a few hours in that if I wanted a little of everything I’d been craving, I’d have to have WAY to much food over 48 hours. So I extended it to a week. I’m trying to remember the digestive enzymes, and acidophilus, because that helps with digestion, too. I actually expected to feel worse than I do. Of course that’s not as good as I felt last week. Then again, we’ve been having heat indexes in the low 100s and, even though I have a/c, just running errands wipes me right out. I don’t do well with the extreme heat.

    If you ever decide to have some food/s that contain gluten, try taking a couple of enzymes and acidophilus. And don’t forget the coconut oil! 🙂

  3. Janey Niebla on said:

    I am allergic to gluten that is why i always go for gluten free foods these days. there are many gluten free alternatives anyway. “”””: Thanks again illnesses post

    • You are right about that, Janey. I’m very grateful for the GF alternatives. But there aren’t a whole lot of options in my area. More than there would have been a couple of years ago, I’m sure. It will be easier when the weather cools down and I can start baking again. I just hate to have the a/c working against these miserable temps. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

Leave a Reply

