Beating Hypothyroidism

A Controlled Vacation From Gluten-Free…

Yeah, that hasn’t worked out so well.  Partly because it’s been so blasted hot and I haven’t felt like putting forth much effort to cook…and definitely no baking.  Partly because now that I’ve opened up the food world again, nothing really sounds good.  The fatigue hasn’t been too bad, but I’m not feeling quite as good as I did a week or so ago.  So it’s back to the grind on Monday.  Sure wish gluten-free breads, biscuits, etc… were as good as the ‘real’ stuff.

I’ve made one other change, and I think it’s helping.  I’ve added acidophilus to my island of supplements.  In the past I’ve only taken them when I’m sick.  But they are for digestive health, and they seem to make the enzymes work even better.

Now I can’t remember if I just bought my 3rd or 4th jar of coconut oil since February, but the last one is getting pretty close to empty…and I’m NOT running out.  When I look at them and think…I’ve been EATING COCONUT OIL…JARS and JARS of COCONUT OIL…it’s kind of a gross thought.  But it makes such a huge difference in how I feel.

I’d also been slacking off on the vitamin C and B-complex.  Don’t ask me why, because I don’t have a good answer.  Or any answer at all, really.  But they, too, help a lot.  I was doing well at juicing for a while…I need to start the radish juice again.  It wasn’t that bad.  It wasn’t that bad…I can do it.

I did remember to get my blood test yesterday.  Same rude lab tech, but this time she managed to get it from the bend of my elbow (yes, I have another pretty bruise).  I’ll find out Monday what my TSH levels are.  If they test the wrong thing again, I’m going to spit bullets.

So we’ll see how it goes.  Seems like there was something else I wanted to mention, but whatever it might have been is gone.  If I remember, I’ll update this post.  Now it’s back to my manuscript.  Five-thousand words a day for fourteen days.  And I’m a little short tonight.  Can’t screw up the first day in.  🙂

Looking at the tag list, I just remembered.  While I’m feeling better in 85 degrees than I have since I was a kid, these 95 and 100 degree days are nuts.  I hate them.  But to be perfectly honest, miserable as they are, they still aren’t bothering me as much as they used to.  Of course, I’m using the air conditioner, and the only time I’m outside is to walk from the house to the van, and the van to wherever it is I’m going.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “A Controlled Vacation From Gluten-Free…

  1. we were in Phoenix in august one year and it was hotter than I have ever experienced. and I realized an ugly truth: 40C (about104F) is as bad as -40C (which is -40F). a person can’t be out in either of them. Fortunately I haven’t had much of either.

    • I’ve never experienced 40 below, though we’ve had 20 below windchills before, and that’s pretty cold! Still, I think I’d take the cold over this miserable heat and humidity any day. If you think the dry 104 in Phoenix was bad, you haven’t experienced the misery of 104 degrees and 80-100% humidity, lol. Oh I hate summer. 🙂

  2. Sometimes a break from a regimen gives you the push you need to dive back into the regimen.

    Keep cool, glug that coconut oil, and remember that managing your diet is a form of power over your fatigue. Gluten sensitivity, hear us roar! XO

    • After 2 weeks and 1 day, I’m definitely ready to dive back in…on Monday. It finally hit me tonight that I have a problem I never, EVER associated with gluten. It’s been driving me nuts, so I just Googled it and, sure enough, retaining fluid is associated with gluten sensitivity. And let me tell you, for the past couple of weeks, my feet and ankles have been a problem. Nothing I do is helping, including drinking quite a bit of water (and I don’t ‘do’ a lot of salt…never have).

      I’ve also noticed this time around that foods I’d previously loved just don’t taste as good to me now. I’m thinking that’s why the two days has lasted almost ten times longer than I’d planned. I keep hoping something will satisfy what I thought I was missing…and nothing has.

      Fortunately, between the supplements, herbal energizing tea, and something I’ll be writing about in a minute, I’m not having too much trouble with the fatigue. But I know once the gluten is gone again, I’ll feel even better.

      Thanks for the encouragement, Shelly! 🙂

Leave a Reply

