Beating Hypothyroidism

Sometimes I Wish I Was 10 Again…

My fear of dentists has resulted in the need to have two back teeth removed…one on each side of my mouth. If I were a kid again, my mom would have dragged me, kicking and screaming, to all the appointments I should have made.

Unfortunately…or fortunately, I guess, I’m going to be limited in what I can eat for a week or ten days.

So…

One, I figure this is a great time for me to get back on track with my gluten-free lifestyle. And I’ve also decided to try something else.

A couple of months ago, out of pure boredom, I watched a documentary called Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead on Hulu.com (USA residents can also watch it at Reboot Your Life) For some reason, I figured it was another thing slamming the fast food industry…but it wasn’t. It was actually interesting enough that I watched a couple of weeks later, and will be again after I post this.

Why?

Because I’m going to do a version of the 60-day juice fast Joe Cross did. In a nutshell, this guy was pretty big, plus he suffered from a nasty condition that he likens to chronic hives. He was on some heavy duty meds for it, too. I believe one was Prednisone.

Not only did he lose a HUGE amount of weight, but he was able to reduce the amount of medication he was taking throughout the course of the fast.  By the time he finished, he was pretty much cured and prescription free.

So I will be juicing, making smoothies, and using my swamp sludge (powdered greens)….hopefully for at least a week. At this point, I’m hoping to extend it to a full 30 days, depending on how easily I adapt to it. I may add a protein powder…maybe whey or rice…to it, because I think that’s important, too. But we’ll see how it goes.

I’m in hopes that with my body getting nothing but good nutrition, maybe I can get the other issues under control.

By the time I write the next post…in about a week, I should have been on it for at least four days. I’m really hoping that the dental work will keep me on track, and that by the time things are healed up enough to actually eat food, I’ll be pretty well established with the fast. Maybe I’ll even be able to revert completely to the juice, but I figure smoothies are basically the same thing. I’ll just be getting the fiber from those.

Who knows, maybe I’ll even be able to knock that 20 pounds out of the ballpark!  🙂

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

