Beating Hypothyroidism

Does Coconut Oil Help Thyroid Function?

I don’t know why it took me so long to make the connection, but the answer to my question is…I believe that it does.

It’s been seventeen months since the official diagnosis of hypothyroidism. Until last month, I’d only made it into the ‘normal’ range once, and the doctor said it was just barely. That would have been last year when I tried the coconut oil for a while.

Now, months later (almost a year, in fact), I’m barely back in the normal range again…and this time it happened after being on the same Synthroid dose for a good six months. It hadn’t been raised again. But in March, when I had the panic attack, my TSH was still too high.

I didn’t begin using coconut oil again until around April 10th. So I’m crediting that with my TSH being within the normal range….because the Synthroid sure didn’t put it there. It helped some…kept it knocked down a point or two all this time, but it’s the oil that tipped the scales.

Four months on it now. I am diligent about using it…once a day. If I could remember to do the 3-4 times a day, I’m thinking maybe I could get off the meds entirely. Maybe not.

But…

If I would also be diligent about the juiced radishes/V8/hot sauce/cayenne pepper along with it (twice daily)…you just never know what might happen.

Something else is also different. For the first time since my pregnancies, I’ve been taking a multi-vitamin religiously. Along with B-Complex and B12. I’m not sure if I was taking the adrenal support then, but I’ve been using the digestive enzymes, too.

All I know is that I’m setting a goal. To shock the heck out of my doctor by this time next year. Because I still refuse to accept that this is the way my life is always going to be.

I’ve already proved that wrong…to a degree. The oh so great medicine hasn’t made me feel one bit better. But thanks to people who are willing to share their stories and experience, I’ve learned a great deal…and it’s helped tremendously. Yes, I’m still too tired most of the time…however…it’s no longer so bad that it controls my life.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Does Coconut Oil Help Thyroid Function?

  1. Shock the doctor! Shock the doctor! I like your goal, and I am rooting for you, Kristy!

    • Thankyouverymuch (don’t I do a great Elvis impersonation…online only). 🙂

      After she gave me very little hope of a better life in December, I’m extremely motivated. It’s already better than it was, thanks to the coconut oil and other things. It’s just going to continue to improve from here on out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

