Beating Hypothyroidism

Definitely Been A While…

Just to quickly explain, I might have mentioned that when the dentist pulled my tooth, it tore the side of the gum pretty bad. In addition, it looks like one of the many shots injured a nerve, so the pain still gets pretty bad at times. Last night was one of those nights and I got very little sleep. Hopefully it will continue to improve…a whole lot faster than it has been. It’s seriously screwing up my online life. Hard to make the blog rounds, or do much of anything else with stuff like this going on.

On to other…better…news.

A week or so ago, I really seemed to lose my appetite. I mean a lot. As in I wasn’t even hungry until I’d been up eight or nine hours. I also was only eating one or two small meals a day. I know some of it was water weight, but in less than a week, I dropped eight or nine pounds.

That gave me all the incentive I needed to start something I’d seriously been considering for some time now. So on Monday, I started carb cycling.

The first day I basically had a big chicken breast (boneless/skinless) fried slow in a little coconut oil with salt, garlic and parmesan cheese. In addition, for the day, I had a tablespoon of coconut oil, a tablespoon or so of butter, maybe half a dozen bites of an egg/sausage/cheese scramble, and 2 cups of V8 juice.

Tuesday it was an even larger chicken breast, prepared the same way, and split into two ‘meals,’ most of a can of green beans, 3 tablespoons of butter, 2 tablespoons of coconut oil, and a slice of cheese.

Those were the low carb days (4 per week…50 or fewer grams of carbs).

Wednesday was a medium carb day (2 days per week…100-200 grams), and I had…3 slices of ham lunch meat and 1 slice of gluten free toast with 1 1/2 teaspoons of butter for lunch. Supper was 3/4 to 1 cup of instant potatoes with 2 tablespoons of butter, 3 slices of chopped ham lunch meat, and a cup of V8 juice. Because I was so low on carbs, I had a scant 1/4 cup of chocolate chips and 3 marshmallows, and then 1/4 up of sunflower seeds later.

I also finally found out how to use coconut oil for weight loss…1 tablespoon BEFORE meals, so I had three of those today, too.

Yes, I know the fat content has been rather high, but on the low carb days, you’re supposed to have a 50/50 thing going on with calories…50% of them coming from protein, and 50% coming from good fats. I’m going to be mixing the butter and coconut oil for a healthier substitute, I think.

But, no matter how you slice it, it’s sugar, carbs, and processed foods that put the weight on. However, I don’t believe that total low carb is good for you either, so that’s why I went with the carb cycling. I don’t eliminate any food groups that way, and can even have fruits on the medium and high carb days. High carb days are, for me right now, 1 day a week, and I’m supposed to get in 400-600 grams. That’s going to be rough.

And I’m also going for a wider variety and more veggies and fruits when I get to the grocery store.

But get this…I’m down a total of twelve pounds in just over a week.

Why am I sharing all of this with you? Because it’s the first time in I don’t know how long that I’ve lost weight. And it’s a pretty significant loss, too. I couldn’t be more thrilled. Well, I could…if the jaw pain would go away permanently, but even so…this is fantastic!

Now I want to add that I never ate a whole lot anyway. Of course I had those days from time to time…you know…where you eat anything that isn’t nailed down. But usually I didn’t eat a whole lot.

Something is working. I couldn’t lose it before…no matter what I did. Now it’s coming off. And you know what? On the low carb days, I don’t really get hungry. I may have to have another snack before I go to bed today though (it’s still Wednesday to me). I think it’s the carbs I’ve eaten that are doing it. But tomorrow is another low day, so it likely won’t be a problem.

So anyway, this is longer than I planned, but I had to share it with you. For those of you with hypothyroidism, and are discouraged because you can’t lose any weight, even with Synthroid, Armour, or whatever you’re taking for it…there is hope! It’s been 18 months since my diagnosis, and this is the first time anything has come off. I’m completely amazed!

I’ll keep you posted on my progress, which I expect to slow down sooner rather than later. But I expect it to also continue coming off. That’s why I’m so happy about this. I finally have hope. 🙂

Oops. Two more quick notes. Six months off the electronic cigarettes…yay! Also, I’m curious as to whether the dessicated adrenal support supplements are having anything to do with the success this time. Does anyone have any experience with them? I know I’m not stopping after the 90 days are up.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

