Beating Hypothyroidism

I’ve Hit My First Snag…and am Ready to Cry

Today is my first ‘high carb’ day. Yup, I’m supposed to have 400-600 grams of carbs, so I planned what I’ll eat…

33 GF pretzels and 3 tbsp Cheese Whiz (27 carbs)

1 cup corn pasta, 1 cup meat sauce (68 carbs)

1 slice GF garlic toast (11 carbs)

10 cups popcorn (60 carbs)

1 cup hot cocoa (11 carbs)

This is 177 carbs. I need to figure out how to add 223 to hit the bare minimum. Even adding a smoothie will only give me another 60…163 short.

I HATE hypothyroidism. I do NOT eat enough to need to lose weight. I really don’t. I don’t think I can even get to 300 carbs. Not without feeling like I swallowed a boulder.

It might help if gluten-free bread products tasted better, but….yuck. The pretzels and corn pasta are good. And I have some whole grain bread that’s pretty good-with plenty of butter. But the high carb days are supposed to be low fat days, too.

Yes, I’m whining. I’m sorry. I just don’t want to fail at this, and I know there’s no way I’ll be able to stick to a flat out low carb way of life. Four days a week is plenty.

Guess I’m going to have to research this more so I’m better prepared for the high carb day next week. 😦

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “I’ve Hit My First Snag…and am Ready to Cry

  1. I’ve been living paleo – high protein and no grains. I haven’t lost any weight but i do feel better. good l uck figuring it out.

    • I can see I’ll probably be moving closer in that direction. This is impossible. I’ve hit about 230 carbs for the day, and I just don’t see how I can get anything else down. Then there’s the whole carb crash issue. That’s been one of the big perks of eating minimal carbs…I don’t feel like taking a long nap half an hour after a meal.

      I think I’m just going to try to do three 100-200 carb days a week and forget the high carb day. I just can’t eat that much food. 😦

Leave a Reply

